How to change group admin settings
Control who can edit a group and who can send messages in it.
Group admins can control two settings, each a choice between Only admins and All participants. There is no finer control than this - for example, you cannot allow editing the group name while blocking icon changes separately.
- Open the group's chat info screen.
- Tap Group permission (only visible to admins).
- Under Edit group settings, choose who can change the group's name, icon, description, and disappearing message timer.
- Under Send messages, choose who can send messages in the group.
When Send messages is set to Only admins, members who aren't admins see a disabled message box instead of being able to type.